Tristesse

Sadness is profound. Breaking up with your girl friend is the stuff of pimple poetry. No one hurts as tritely or deep.

No one.

David Byrne summed it up. His lyrics are genius in “Sad Song”.

Sadness is unavoidable. Like eating an entire cheesecake. The first slice is awful…good. Eating the entire thing is more compulsion than pleasure.

Sadness is art. Great films and plays are ALWAYS tragedies. Comedies are fluff. True beauty lies in the exposition of the details of pain. If great pain and suffering are not involved, how can a work be considered slash your wrists enlightenment? To shed light, high art must portray the darkest human condition. The delicate nuance of suffering must be exposed.

Or ya could just read “The Secret” or Jonathan Livingston Seagull again…. If we un-will suffering and blame ourselves for life’s owies, we have discovered deep eternal truth. Truth that hurts. Like eating an entire cheesecake. Going deeper into suffering and pain seems to be the cure for sadness.

Or maybe not.

Maybe self help do it yourself spiritual evolution books lead to pure joy and ascension. Do not cut across the vein.

This entry was posted in Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Tristesse

  1. Cary says:

    That’s right. RAZORS are for SHAVING.

  2. Mel Avender says:

    How nice to hear from you again. You have been missed. Is it the smoke and fire and wind and heat that has you waxing blue? I remember an Esalen Institute seminar I attended years ago with my good friend Bert. One of the exercises involved observing a partner who, with eyes closed, remembered something that affected them deeply. I was stunned that, to the one, each person’s face became slowly contorted with sadness. We left, Bert and I, starving for joy, and skipped like children along the sidewalks of San Francisco until we laughingly reached home. I don’t skip so much anymore, but I’m still laughing my way home. It’s all a joke anyway, isn’t it?

    • osolynden says:

      I refuse to wax anything…. I just tire of the internet poetry that thinks art must be depressing to be art… πŸ˜‰ Finally had a good connection and posted the song…

      • Mel Avender says:

        Guess I’ve been away from your prose too long. I missed out on the sarcasm. What the hell’s the matter with me?

  3. Mel Avender says:

    And cutting across the vein rarely does it. One must cut along the vein to do the trick.

    • osolynden says:

      Only amateurs cut across the vein or post depressing adolescent poetry online…

      • Little Sun says:

        Feeling a bit cranky?

        • Little Sun says:

          Oops. Sorry. I’m feeling cranky.

        • osolynden says:

          Let’s see? Trying to figure out how to get my dog to the vet again and where the funds will come from, waiting for one last part so I can reassemble the under sink/water heater world, putting up with the demands,needs and criticism from the big house and still eating wildfire smoke. Only to go to my retreat on the swing and have the birds tell me I am too close to their nest. Why would i be cranky…

  4. Little Sun says:

    Or one can just do a Harold and, after washing up, live to laugh and dance for a while with Maude.

  5. In an odd way, sadness can be a good thing for you. Dark,intensely colored clothing only help to accelerate the condition. Here in SF, almost everyone wears dark colors. All the pastels on the tourists gives them away.

    People here work HARD to avoid eye contact. There exists an attitude of ‘San Francisco Cool’ that seems silly and provincial to me. Of course, that usually compels me to flash them a BIIIIIIIIIIIIIIG smile and a cheery “Good Morning!” I think this is the Texan in me.

    When I was a kid, stumbling around through the haze of my teenage hormones, I decided that if I was going to be feeling sad, I would let myself feel this to the Nth degree, which always left me laughing and forgetting about my problems. My great grandfather taught me this when I was about 12.

    Being an atheist from birth, I never could relate to my family’s immense Catholic guilt. There were too many rules & regulations that I chose to ignore. Did I ever tell you the story of when I threw up the Body of whatshisname?

Leave a Reply

