Dead Horses

Dead Horses

Death is not a popular internet topic.  Unless your pals are Goth poets, and Goth poets are mostly too young to have held hands with the dying.

Now that I consider…  Our modern world sometimes puts the dying away before they are dead.   People don’t die at home now.  People no longer die surrounded by the familiar, eased by the touch of a lover.  We hire strangers to “help”.

Our culture deprives us of death.

We celebrate babies and kittens and puppies… We shun the end of the cycle.

I am not intending to be cruel to any who have said goodbye to friends or mates or children.  Those of us who are old enough to repaint have “buried” more than we care to say.

I am saying our way of doing… keeps death at a distance.  We no longer wash the corpse while we grieve and touch the cold flesh to KNOW life has left.

Few know how long rigamortis lasts or other cold realities of dying.

Several years ago an old horse I had cared for and fed laid down and never got up.  When I found him he was still warm.   His neck was wet from the other horses licking him.

I knew as I approached life had departed.  There is something about the look and feel of death.  It is unmistakable.

This entry was posted in Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dead Horses

  1. The Lady B says:

    Dear friend, I wonder at your reflections tonight. But as always, you have a way with words that impact deeply.

  2. Cary says:

    I can UNEQUIVOCALLY tell you that death is no more “difficult” than brushing one’s teeth. It is nothing to be FEARED and it is a most NATURAL part of LIFE. Too bad this culture hasn’t embraced it as such. How insanely pathetic.

  3. Mel Avender says:

    Big difference between death and dying. Always profound. Never denied.

  4. Great topic.

    If you’ve read my blog, you know that I was present and supportive for my lover’s death by AIDS back in 1985. I personally have never been afraid of death, and although emotionally this was a very painful thing to have gone through, and I had the support of his family and a few friends to lean on when I needed, I can honestly say that allowing myself this experience was one of the most positive things I could have done for myself. After he died, I was left with a life-changing experience that left my life more appreciative of what really matters.

    Useless negative emotions (jealousy, envy, anger, as a few examples) melted off of my psyche. I grew up immediately thanks to having this experience in my life. Most importantly I maintained my sense of humor.

    I am totally without religion or indulge in any pesky little saviors to acknowledge or fancy. I understand death as a natural, necessary process, and advise others to never run away from having the personal experience of watching a loved one die. Don’t ever let anyone die alone, is my motto. I worked with the Aids Health Project as a counselor for several years because of this odd and under-appreciated “skill” of mine.

    Because life is short, and I believe you get only ONE shot at it, anything goes. I feel fortunate for the oddly painful life I was given because I walked through that fire and learned what was on the other side. And THAT was worth more than gold to me.

    The remainder of life is just more stuff to deal with.

  5. You my friend are a genius

Leave a Reply

