A Modest Proposal

A Modest Proposal

As a few have noted I am back on Word press.  Word Press is a blogging site not a social site.  I often enjoy the “community” of social sites.

That is where I met most of you.

Word Press is a well written site that is it’s own photo host.  An active link is a copy/paste (or drag and drop) away without a ridiculous 5 step “helper box”.

I can compose a blog in “Text Edit” (my Macintosh writing program) complete with photos…  select, drag and drop it into Word Press.  Voila.

Videos are easy here too.  It is a well designed and written site.  Like any web site it takes a bit of exploring, testing and learning the lingo.  Unlike some social sites there is a “help” option that answers  your “how to” questions.

I love the easy functionality of Word Press.

When someone posts a comment on your blog for the first time you are asked to approve/moderate it.  Once approved that person has free rein to comment your pieces in perpetuity.  One more advantage is that first time commenters must submit their real email address.  Only the blog author sees it.  Guess what?  Trolls find this very discouraging.

And they call blogs BLOGS over here…  😉

The site stats are amazing.  You know if anyone clicked on the links in your blog or not and how many times…  You know the country of origin of a view.  Apparently I have a few real fans in Chile, Canada, the UK and Brazil.

I see no reason why we can’t get more interactive here.  Like any site it takes some work.  I need to read and comment other Word Press blogs and some will generally return the favor.  If any of you want to open your own blog let me know and I will redo my “what I read” section and send traffic in addition to supporting it myself.

My proposal is simple.  We could turn a little corner of Word Press into our own social site.  Well OK…  SPK will have to go elsewhere for the games….  Image

This entry was posted in Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Modest Proposal

  1. WOOHOOOOO! Yeah, we are moving on up!!!!!

    • osolynden says:

      Left a “like” and a comment on your blog. Hoping my other pals will too…

      No strict size limits on pics here… How about that?

      Sending pug love.

      • O, woe is me…I have no time to play next few days. I have several paintings need be done pronto. And being stared down by a hungry pug.

        I ‘m so excited to be here.;-)

        • osolynden says:

          The paintings I have every confidence you will complete and they will be wonderful. You are on your own with the hungry Pug… I hear they can grab a sandwich right off your plate and wolf it all down before you even notice… Can’t remeber where i heard that but I did… 😉

          Talk when you have time again sweetie. goodnight.

  2. thomassparky says:

    Our own community sounds Great! I can’t wait! Hi Sister, I’m so glad you are here too! I’m a bit confused with this site. I have to re-learn a different way to build my blog page.

  3. Some People's Kids says:

    You know I’m here hiding over in the corner as usual. 🙂

    I tried to join (yeah I’ll learn the way another site works just because I love you guys) but unfortunately somebody already has my name. And here I thought I was a unique specimen of internet mentality. So, I suppose I will have to choose another name if I want to join up and bore you all with my rare drivel.

    Anybody have a suggestion? Go ahead I can take it.

  4. Melissa Hart says:

    I will join here, just give me a few days. I’m a bit preoccupied at the moment 😉

Leave a Reply

