It’s Over

I buried The Little Bear yesterday morning.  I was down on my knees wailing and sobbing and gently covered him with my bare hands. 

I am a mess.

Would love to write some glowing tribute to him and the deep bond we shared for so very many years but I realize I already have.  You will find much of his story here in my archive under “dog blogs”.

Saw him six times yesterday in my peripheral vision…  When I kicked off my garden clogs last night I checked to see where he was first…  Woke this morning calling his name. 

This will take some time.

Image

This entry was posted in Dog Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to It’s Over

  1. Mac Lawrence J McFarland-Groves says:

    Sending love.

    • It seems not matter how you try to prepare yourself for a loss of a love one (whether human or animal) it still slaps you in the face the moment it happens.

      It is very natural and understandable to feel like you do, overwhelmed with grief. After all, Little was a huge part of your life for over a decade, almost two. The impact and the loss of him will get better in due time. Just remember we are here for you.

      When I think of all your stories you’ve shared about Little, this poem comes to mind. Take care, love & miss you.

      Don’t Cry for me When I’m Gone

      So, though I give you all my heart,
      The time will come when we must part.
      But all around you, you will see,
      Creatures that speak to you of me;
      A tired horse, a hunted thing,
      A sparrow with a broken wing …
      Pity – and help (I know you will)
      And somehow, I will be with you still;
      And I shall know, although I’m gone,
      The love I gave you lingers on.

      — (Author unknown) —

    • osolynden says:

      Thanks Mac. Much appreciated.

  2. Cindy says:

    you did right by each other. unconditional love, both directions. you cherished him Lynden. he knew that. Big big hugs to you my friend.

  3. Diane Jackson says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss Lynden, I know how much Little Bear means to you. I had 5 dogs, all 13 year old siblings and sadly have lost 3 this year. I still have 2 but we miss the others every day. I try not to think about their last days but bring to mind all of the joy they brought to my life and then I find myself smiling. Little Bear will never be really gone because he’s a part of you.

  4. So sorry for your loss. You allowed him a long and healthy run, right alongside the person he loved and knew best in his whole world. I know he thanks you for the time you spent together. Please allowed yourself to grieve as long as you need, until he shows up again in the form of another dog.

    When my Daphne died at 17 in 2005, the first thing I noticed was how much of our errands, our adventures, required the presence of a dog, if for anything to restore the family’s ‘balance.’

  5. Melissa Hart says:

    As I’ve told you already, my heart aches for your loss. It’s always hard to lose the love of your life. ❤

  6. Years of pictures, stories, blog posts, and warm feelings – he is part of our lives too, Lynden. We also miss him, and some of us are crying right beside you;-].

  7. I wish I could be there to comfort you and help you cry it out. I’m sending much love and you are in my thoughts. I know there are no words to fully express your loss, but know that we’re all here for you and we love you. You’ve been a good companion to Little Bear. Better than many folks ever manage to find (dog or human). Thank you for sharing his life with us over the years. A bit of him lives on in all of us now.

  8. jillcb1 says:

    I have followed yours and Little bears blogs since we met on MySpace possibly 5yrs ago. Since I moved to Facebook I continued to read your blogs even if I didn’t respond to them.

    I have followed your making of your garden and seen pictures of Little Bear lying in the shade and read about you and him out walking.

    Unfortunately as soon as I read the title of this blog, I knew 😦

    You have some wonderful memories which I feel very honoured to have been able to share with you online. I am crying for you and with you and fully understand what you are going through.

    You are in my thoughts Lynden and please keep on blogging’

    Jill x (aka The Iron Fairy)

  9. I’m so sorry for your loss. He was a great dog. 😦

  10. Ishbel says:

    So sorry to hear this sad news.

  11. Joy Bee says:

    Hugs.

  12. thomassparky says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss! Thank You so very much for sharing him with us. Thanks to your posts and photos , a part of him will be alive forever. And forever in our hearts and minds too!

Leave a Reply

