Planet of the Vapes

The use of electronic cigarettes is rapidly growing.   Some users have congregated in online forums and a subculture with its’ own language has developed. 

Basically e cigs turn a liquid into vapor that can be ingested.  The vapor looks and feels almost like smoke but it isn’t.

A huge industry has grown up to service the demand.  Many flavors of “e-liquid” or “e-juice” mimic certain brands of “analog” cigarette.  There are even more flavors that have nothing to do with tobacco.  Think of a flavor and someone makes it… watermelon, peach brandy, coffee, chocolate, blueberry cheesecake, root beer float.

The flavors can be mixed and some “vapers”make their own. 

Now you know what it is and a little about it. 

Society has decided to discourage smoking in every way possible and for legitimate reasons.  There is no debate that it takes a devastating toll on health and the health care costs are extreme.   

Vaping is relatively new and there are no studies that indicate whether or not it is harmful.  No one particularly recommends that you take up vaping.  However if you are a smoker who substitutes vaping for analog smokes to continue the ritual and service your nicotine addiction…  anecdotal evidence suggests that it is considerably healthier….

Many vapers report their sense of smell and taste return, they stop hacking up phlegm and breathe more easily.  It also doesn’t smell. 

As the old joke goes “It’s easy to quit smoking, Iv’e done it hundreds of times”… 

My neighbor recently started using an e cig and went from a pack and a half a day down to 3 real cigarettes a day.  In time even those 3 may vanish.  He let me try it.   I think I could make the switch.  He reports benefits already not the least of which is the considerably lower cost. 

My starter kit is on it’s way.  I will maintain this blog as a diary with updates and let you know how it works for me. 

UPDATE:  AS PROMISED.

My E-cigs arrived August 8th.  That will be two weeks tomorrow.  I have a pack of real cigarettes on the table with a lighter on top and I admit I still have two or three a day.  I Have my permission to smoke a real cig any time I want.   I am astonished how effortless the transition has been.  Mostly I don’t want.

And the real cigs are starting to taste and smell funny.  I have tons to learn still and it is a process.  Can’t wait till my new flavors arrive!

August 28th

Three weeks today.  I am still smoking ONE real cig a day.  I found a new cartridge that delivers a heavier cloud of vapor and I am very pleased with it.  It is also clear so you can see the liquid level and know when it gets low.  Want to experiment with different nicotine levels.  Currently smoking a Turkish tobacco flavor that I mix with a vanilla flavor.  Still waiting for my new flavors to arrive. 

This entry was posted in Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Planet of the Vapes

  1. Cary says:

    Cool!!! We want you around for a LONG TIME!!!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. maks says:

    I’ve got some Chinese friends who suck on these all day. When I tried it I thought they were awful. All I could taste was chemicals and could feel a hotspot at the top of my lungs. Bottom line, lungs are for oxygen. I gave up using nicotine patches + mints for 8 months 2 years ago and relapsed after a head on car crash and a spider bite in the space of a week. I tried again last year and went 3 months until I lost Tess. I’ll try again real soon to save my lungs for when I’m older. The patches worked well for me. Although for the first week I got some valium from the doctor so I wasn’t staring at the ceiling all night stewing on it. I’d put one on in the morning and if I went down to the pub and felt like a smoke, I’d just suck on one of those nicotine mints for a couple of minutes and I would be fine.

    You need to find something else to do with your hands!

    Also…

    http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/249784.php

  3. jillcb1 says:

    I have been vaping since 13th January 2012 after 9 months of trying to give up in other ways. I ❤ it. I am currently vaping on sherbet lemon ejuice but my favourite is coffee. I have gone off tobacco flavours completely.

    I am currently involved with a campaign ro stop both the British and European Governments from making them available as only a medicinal product. Yes, I agree regulation is good. But I find most of the vendors self regulate to a very high standard. Classing them as medicines will mean there will be very little choice in what strengths or flavours we get.

    I know some States over with you are setting their own rules about ecigarettes, hopefully not where you are.

    Anyway, well done for considering changing. I hope you decide to join us merry band of vapers – Good Luck.

    Vape long and prosper 🙂

    • osolynden says:

      Didn’t realize you had made the transition to vaping. NOT surprised to hear you like the coffee flavor! I remember your love of a good cup.

      It interests me how many abandon the tobacco flavors. Did order some vanilla.

      Will let you know how it goes.

      Hugs to you Jill.

  4. I did the vaping thing for a month back in 2010 when we did the road trip through Australia. You couldn’t smoke on the 15+ hour flight and the motorhome rental company had a no smoking policy. Also, if I remember right, cigarettes in Australia were running about $15 AU a pack. So for an investment of a bit less than $50, I had my habit pretty well taken care of for the month.

    For me they served their purpose very well, but I just couldn’t get past the differences to stay on them. The vaping unit was heavier, I worried constantly about the possibility of the tips leaking nicotine juice, the kids were more interested in messing with the vaping unit than my pack of cigarettes, and you can’t blow out any even half-assed smoke rings. lol

    Since I’ve still got all the stuff, maybe I’ll try them again. I did like the vanilla ones the best.

    • Ishbel says:

      A couple of friends use the ecigs.

      I smoked HEAVILY from age 19 to 27. Lived with a rabid non-smoker…. Upshot? He made appt for me to visit a hynotherapist (in Harley Street, no less!). Agreed to go with the proviso that when it didn’t work (as I was certain it wouldn’t),he’d stop bitching about my habit.

      I never smoked another fag. I was astounded, I class myself as a world-class sceptic!

      • Ishbel says:

        Oops, fag here is slang for cigs…

      • osolynden says:

        Great story Ishbel. But do you sometimes cluck like a chicken for no obvious reason? 😉

        I too am skeptical and thrilled this is working so well for me.

        How is your garden? Mine has really filled in as we actually have gotten some rain recently.

        • Ishbel says:

          Blooming!

          We had a cold, wet, LONG winter, followed by an equally long, wet spring, followed by a summerbthat started cold and wet…. THEN we had a bloody heatwave. Everything runs amok.. Trees laden with leaves (don’t even want to think about what that will mean in Autumn..)., flowering shrubs and bushes abundant.. Lawns a complete pain. Usually, by now, the grass barely grows, but now copious rains and warmer days mean the damned stuff is still taking up too much time and effort!

          Ho hum, the joys of gardening in a place where you can experience four seasons in a couple of hours.

          How’s yours doing? Any luck finding verbena bonariensis seeds? Great show this year from all the self-set seeds in the ling border and the rose garden. The agapathus are also flowering wonderfully.

          • Ishbel says:

            That should be LONG border!

          • osolynden says:

            😉 I understand. Our weather is never all that predictable or stable and this year has been crazy. We went from severe drought (7 years worth) to an all at once deluge so hard and fast the pavement washed off the road which turned into a flood so deep tree trunks were swirling by…. Gardens are a real challenge here.

            Did find VB seed I could have ordered online but by the time I did it was getting late for seed here so I decided to wait till next year and will order them early. Some of the seed I planted mid may is just now beginning to flower and the season will end mid October. The flowers look great. Of course with the rain so do the weeds…

    • osolynden says:

      Interesting. I had no idea you were a smoker (like me). The vanilla is OK. (my kit came) I hear different brands are different when it comes to the liquid. Getting ready to order some black licorice and maybe root beer. Have 3 tobacco flavors and they all taste the same to me. The good news? Maybe 3 real cigs a day with no effort.

    • osolynden says:

      If you do SPK let me know how it goes. Actually going quite well for me.

  5. Sorry I didn’t reply sooner. This is a very touchy subject for me. I quit smoking ten years ago, cold turkey. I have a damaged right lung. It took me a year to stop the addiction and almost three years to get over wanting a cigarette. It also took me five times to quit. I tried patches, inhaler and gum and nothing helped me. I hope these electronic cigarettes work for you. My mom was going on them but it was to late. She died from lung cancer, 5 weeks after being diagnosed. My Nanny(her mother) same but died in 3 months after diagnosed. My grandfather Rusty had a 1/2 lung left before he died for cancer, he smoked unfiltered camels. Now my father, quit smoking 12yrs ago has lung cancer, just found after my mom died few weeks later, he may get his right lung removed or just let it take its course. Its the kind that’s slow growing. He is also a mechanic so that might have some play in his cancer being different than my moms. The only reason they found it was they x-ray his heart. He is on his third year now.

    Goodluck and for you a joke….

    Two old ladies were outside their nursing home, having a smoke when it started to rain. One of the ladies pulled out a condom, cut off the end, put it over her cigarette and continued smoking.

    Lady 1: “What’s that?”

    Lady 2: “A condom. This way my cigarette doesn’t get wet.”

    Lady 1: “Where did you get it?”

    Lady 2: “You can get them at any drugstore.”

    The next day … Lady 1 hobbles herself into the local drugstore and announces to the pharmacist that she wants a box of condoms. The guy looks at her kind of strangely (she is, after all, over 80 years of age), but politely asks what brand she prefers.

    Lady 1: “It doesn’t matter as long as it fits a Camel.”

    ROTFL!!!!!

  6. Lordie.

    One would think that only I vape with good old American WEED.

    • osolynden says:

      Thanks! Hit follow on your blog. Looks like this is working for me and I have a lot to learn. My current quest is for juice vendors and flavors that will delight me. Any advice?

      • sho2dapan says:

        Am on a Greenman Kick at the Moment…Am Rally liking his Paladin Punch and am getting the Noir, and fuzzy custard…also some of Your Juice… 🙂 MoonMountain has Some tasty stuff but would like to change the ratio…Marble Valley Has some really nice stuff darn it…

    • osolynden says:

      PS Born and raised in Illinois.

  7. sho2dapan says:

    Sorry did not see your Comments til Just Now..Grats on getting away from Analogs…I too will Always be a Smoker and Find myself wanting a Real one, but I just grab a new Flavor and Puff till that goes away…What Juice are you Favoring ATM…

  8. Pingback: Planet of the Vapes | Illinoisvapors

Leave a Reply

