Congratulations Anthony and James

Congratulations!

My friends James and Anthony just got married.  My breeder friends make a big deal any time any one does that.  Even though these days most of them have done some exploratory poking around or are into serial monogamy.

It’s an even bigger deal when it just became legal for you and your mate. 

They have been together for 33 years.  They own a house and a business together. 

I explained to an unsympathetic redneck neighbor that marriage is a LEGALITY that declares two people related IN THE EYES OF THE LAW.  That makes it hard for hostile relatives to swoop in and steal assets they didn’t earn (in the event of a partners death) and simplifies tax issues…  

And so much more.  

I could tell by the look in her capitalist libertarian eyes that it was the one thing she had never considered. To hell with the “not Adam and Steve” crowd.

In the eyes of the state, marriage has nothing to do with religion. 

I never dreamed I would live to see Gay Marriage legal where I live but it recently became legal in Santa Fe County.  There was a long line…

Congratulations gents. 

After 33 years they already had a toaster.  So I took a can of linseed oil and greased their porch rocking chairs.  Paste waxed them too.  😉  Left a cheap bouquet on the kitchen island….

Image

This entry was posted in Passionate Politics, Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Congratulations Anthony and James

  1. osolynden says:

    From the bottom of my heart… Congratulations guys.

  2. sho2dapan says:

    Reblogged this on Illinoisvapors and commented:
    Congrats to your Friends…I know it is Off topic to the Blog But this is what needs to happen In the Land of Lincoln….”liberty and Justice for ALL’!!!

  3. max says:

    I wonder if in 20 years another movement starts to ban marriage altogether for everyone, gay, straight or whatever.

    • osolynden says:

      I reckon we will cross that 20 year bridge when we get there?

      In the meantime… with legality so tied to the institution… married friends in Connecticut found that one husband needed serious knee surgery. He needed in home after care. They couldn’t afford that. The FMLA (Family Medical Leave Act) in Ct. allowed my pal to take a few days off from work to provide that care ONLY BECAUSE THEY WERE LEGALLY MARRIED.

      It is this type of situation I refer to in my blog as “and so much more” and this is what opponents of same sex marriage are blocking.

      And now for that “whatever” 😉

      whatever photo Animal-Weddings_zpsbbfdba9e.jpg

  4. Jill Baldwin says:

    Firstly, congratulations to your friends.

    A lot of people forget that the legal side of partnership is possibly more important than the sharing of their declaration of love. How worrying it could be to have relatives fighting with your life partner after your death. Or worse still, your loved one sitting back and giving up whilst in the depth of grieving, while everything is taken away by families who don’t recognise them as a family member.

    I find it great to see gay friends join together like this. It makes a great excuse to have a party. Oh happy times…….

    Now if this was accepted Worldwide…even better.

    Hope all is well with you Lynden and what a great choice you made as a present to your friends. Very practical. 🙂

    • osolynden says:

      Thank you Jill! The gents will be by as some of my “silent readers” and see your congratulations.

      What a wonderful comment.

      Yes, when I have visited in the past it had often come up that they needed to preserve those lovely old rockers. They seem quite pleased.

      Vaping “Orange Dreamsicle” at the moment. Like the citrus note on my tongue.

      • Jill Baldwin says:

        Sounds like a nice vape. I am on Drunken Monkey, which is Banana and Amaretto – very moorish 🙂

        • osolynden says:

          OOH. that sounds good. As a new Vaper Jill I admit going a bit nuts. Smart enough to order the small vial of flavor till I find some I really love. Still looking for the black licorice of my dreams…

          • osolynden says:

            PS Jill. without effort or suffering. The pack of real smokes sits there on the table available. Haven’t had one for a week. They taste funny now….

            • Jill Baldwin says:

              Good for you. Someone out there will probably make the flavour you want but it can take trial and error trying different makes. I have found some great ones by doing that. Mostly UK flavours although the Chinese companies Dekang and Hangsen do make some very authentic flavours whch are very nice vapes.

              I tried a real smoke the other day and it was so disgusting……..

  5. Cary says:

    Wow, what it must feel like to be with the “one” for 33 years!!!!!! Robert and I have 3 down……………….10,0000 more to go!!!!!!!! Not vaping anything, but making a HUGE batch of Scottish Shortbread……….with a FULL POUND of Cannabutter. So nom-nom…

    • osolynden says:

      Hi sweetie! Give your husband a hug and kiss from me. NO TONGUE.

      Three years is awesome Cary! A journey of a thousand miles starts with the first step. (and may the bird of paradise fly up my nose)

      😉

      Your kitchen is legendary in my mind Cary. Love shortbread. Never heard of Canna butter.
      Canna photo canna_blacknight_zps6bb75b8f.jpg
      Butter photo images_zpsb34d412f.jpg

  6. thomassparky says:

    Wonderful, Wonderful!!! But it’s still so sad that it’s taken mankind this long to decide to treat our fellow human beings as Human Beings! I wish them a very long and happy life together! I would have loved to have been at the wedding! That much Love and happiness spreads to, and envelopes everyone in the room. It makes for One Great and wonderful day!

    • osolynden says:

      Hi sweetie. Come on….. the pups must be all growed up by now? Send pics?

      Know you are busy.

      Yes, pretty wonderful to see folks I love being able to have the legal rights they deserve.

  7. Ishbel says:

    Someday, our descendants will look back and wonder why it took so long.

    Congratulations to your friends.

    By coincidence, I just finished baking a couple of rounds of shortbread. As I’m Scots, it’s just shortbread!

    • osolynden says:

      Hugs cutie. I often wonder why it has been so controversial for so long? Who doesn’t understand that two people who build something together over the course of many decades should be the ones to benefit?

      My dead ex never told his family I was more than a 10 year roomate. Yes it was a long time ago but I lost everything to a hostile family and never got over the pain or injustice.

      Told you before I wished your kitchen door was just a block from mine…. 😉

  8. Oh my gosh, I’m late for the wedding. The cake and Champagne are stale by now! Not that I attend weddings only for free refreshments, mind you.

    Congratulations, guys;-].

    Please don’t post any funerals here, Lynden. By the time I show up, the gravesite will need its first mowing.

Leave a Reply

