DIY Chair 2

It’s pretty basic.  A storage chest with a box on top.  It is more than wide enough for a man and his dog.  An ottoman in front is next.  The Ottoman will only be half as wide.  Mr. Stitch has shorter legs.

Image

Image

Image

It is so deep the back didn’t need to be adjustable after all.  I will fill it with a nest of pillows.

Here are some of the pillow shams on order…  Because while comfort comes first,  IT IS ALL ABOUT PRESENTATION.  🙂

I look like shit without mascara.

 

Image

This entry was posted in Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to DIY Chair 2

  1. dustup224 says:

    Nice work! I think it will look fine painted. With two pieces, paint will look better with the ottoman being a complimentary different shade of your chair and each accenting the room. I thought you were replacing your chair out at your remote sitting spot at the ruin— this is for the hacienda though, right?

    • osolynden says:

      Yes, this is for my tiny house. Large enough for both Stitch and I and taller so easier for me to get in and out of.

      Out at the ruin I stacked a couple of cinder blocks against a tumbling down shed for shade which we will soon need. It turns out we go a few blocks from there more often… The dogs go crazy when I take them to the river/stream.

  2. Well that didn’t take too long even with the shop help. 😉

    Are you still going to paint rather than stain? If you are painting, will you be matching the color to the pillows? My daughter thinks you should go with matching the chair to the blue (her favorite color) pillow, extra sheen and all. I think that might be a little over the top…..but then again…..it is a pretty color.

    Can’t wait to see it all done.

  3. osolynden says:

    I bought a gallon of paint for Adirondack chairs last fall and somehow never got around to using it. It’s a high gloss Carmel brown ish… I think. It is already paid for and the pillows are going to run eleven hundredie gabillion. But stitch looks so nice surrounded by trees…

    Today I will sand and spackle. Maybe the paint starts tomorrow? I can’t wait to have the use of it… 😉

    • Dayum…..those are some expensive pillows. I can see why you don’t want to spring for matching paint. I’m sure the carmel brownish will be a fine color and it will allow you to change the pillows to match Stitch’s reclining mood throughout the day. 🙂

      • osolynden says:

        And remember Our Valentines card? A friend wrote and said, “I’d ask what color you are painting it but you would probably say grey”… She once informed me the “red bench” (referred to as such for years) is NOT RED. I had to show her the can of stain… It says cherry right on the can.

  4. Ecspecially after the pillows are on, I am wondering if you will wish you had made it even bigger?

    So Stitch could have more reclining options, of course.

    • osolynden says:

      Hmnnnn. No.

      This house is really small and I am already agonizing about how to fit this in. 🙂
      I’ll make it work but the larger footprint may impede my use of the Armoire.

Leave a Reply

