Stitch Goes for a Walk

My new dog Stitch is an odd duck. He shows no interest in toys or chewing anything.  They are all different and what fun would it be if they weren’t?

He likes food (big surprise), a rough S&M game of snarly face with his girl friend (Tula) from next door and going for long walks.  Our outings combine all three of his favorites and are Stitch’s idea of heaven.

Let me grab the leash, the whistle and a pocket full of mini treats and let’s go.

Every morning it is my job to feed the horses. Stitch gets tied on leash away from the road and horses and shows great fear of both which is fine with me.

 

Image

Once past the horses we head to the hills:

Image

Stitch goes off leash and becomes faster than green grass through a goose:

Image

He and Tula “tear it up” on the fly.  Not an easy thing to capture:

Image

We often go to the “river” which is often an entire foot wide:

Image

Sometimes they take a break while I sit:

Image

Sometimes they don’t:

Image

After the river we visit the burned down farm house.  We take  the long way home so they can dry:

Image

This is close.  A Mini house in decay with some cinder blocks I stacked for a perch:

Image

Here is a pic I like as it is a “recall”.  He is on the run answering the whistle and barreling down the hill for a small chicken chunk, love  and praise:

Image

We do this every day.  The dogs don’t seem to mind any kind of weather.  We are out and about for nearly two hours.  When we get home they both need to rest for at least 15 minutes…

They say what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.  Keep an eye on the obituaries as I am not sure which way this one will go.  Thanks for coming along.  🙂

Image

This entry was posted in Dog Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Stitch Goes for a Walk

  1. max says:

    It still amazes me how much like the Australian outback New Mexico looks. Those dogs are right at home in that sort of country.

  2. scarlybobs says:

    I *loved* coming along on your walk!! 😀

    It looks like both pups have so much fun. Stitch is simply gorgeous, I love his eyes 🙂

  3. Annie Whitney says:

    another fabulous story, thank you very much, and what wonderful pictures. I love that Stitch and Tula are such good buddies, Tula certainly needs a rough house friend to get out some of that energy. I am glad that you found another great sitting spot, and going to the river is an extra blessing!

    • osolynden says:

      Thanks. Yes, the exercise does them both good. Once the skeeters start I don’t know if the river will be on our tour. The no-see-ums are already fierce some days…

  4. It looks like the relationship between you and The Wonder Dog has appropriately cemented. It seems from your pictures that Tula is just as smitten with Stitch as he is with her.

    I do want you to know that I am jealous that you live so close to a “river”. Even if it is only a foot across. Waterfront (or even just nearby) properties are so hard to come by these days. 😉

    • osolynden says:

      Yes, Stitch and I are becoming good buddies. He sits in the new chair with me on his rump, feet extended leans his back against the back of the chair like a little person and puts his head on my shoulder and gazes at me. I put my arm around him and that is how we spend many an evening.

      I am sure you know about rivers around here. Sometimes a foot across, sometimes dry, and suddenly 45 feet across and 20 feet deep with churning scouring water. I think waterfront property is so sought because people have a great love for mosquitoes… and ours are legendary.

  5. thomassparky says:

    I really LOVE your posts and photos! Please do some videos of you and Stitch, Please!

    • osolynden says:

      It is on my to do list. 🙂 I live alone and just have a camera so I will try to film the dogs in action. Tricky but I will keep trying.

      Thanks Thomas.

  6. I’ve been waiting for weather to clear a little more to break out the camera. You’ve inspired me to get my butt in gear and start back blogging! And Maks made very excellent point how New Mexico does favor Australian outback and those type of dogs are right at home there. Hug Stitch for me and hugs to you. Off to catch up on other blogs I’ve missed while away. ❤

Leave a Reply

