Learning Stitch

On the 24th of May Stitch the Wonder Dog will have been my new friend for 4 months. I look forward to our May anniversary. Beyond it he will have been longer with me than his first temporary family.

We are still learning each other.

His initial terrors have subsided. He no longer thinks twice about going through doors and is mostly happy to meet strangers.

He is a bit high strung and a bit of a sceerdy cat stillโ€ฆ ๐Ÿ˜‰ Gun shots 2 miles away send him running for his crate and so does a single rain drop. We had thunder one afternoon and that is going to be a big one. I hope we have a fireworks free 4th of July (it’s an American thing) in the neighborhood. I installed a new dog door yesterday so he can retreat to his haven at all times. It was a treat teaching him to use it. One lesson was all it took. I’ll shutter it every night.

He showed great fear of the neighbors wood stove (with a window) and I burned a small fire in my outdoor chiminae and he vanished for an hour. He panics when frightened so I will need to keep close parental watch.

He is wildly affectionate and appreciative of attention. He enjoys it when I drape my arm over his shoulder, more so when I talk to him at the same time and he wipes his nose on my tee shirt in appreciation…

He loves rats.ย  Digging up their nests is his hobby. He is in luck as we have a serious plethora. A jack rabbit:

images

dared cross our path on the morning dog carnival (walk) and I sat down and waited. (15 minutes later he returned).

Rats, rabbits and lizardsโ€ฆ The usual dog interests. Things that run. But he is not interested in the least in toys or chewing things like antlers, bones or anything from the pet store… Most peculiar.

He adores me but makes it clear that the most urgent thing in life is playing with Tula the Terrible from next door. He lays not by my feet afternoons, but in our front yard watching for her to come home from work (where she goes everyday). I will need to be content playing second fiddle.

Twice a night he comes to my bed side and wakes me by putting both front paws on the bed and finding my face with his. Eight hours is far too long to go without a belly rub and I hang my arm over the edge of the twin bed and oblige. I put a thick soft rug there for him.

I’m not entirely sure of his age and never will be. So it goes with adopted friends. I think he still has a case of “puppy brains” and may well continue to develop. Into what I have no clue.

But I am learning Stitch.

PS:ย  He has declared a clear preference for chunky peanut butter in the Kong as opposed to smooth….

Image

This entry was posted in Dog Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Learning Stitch

  1. DOG spelled backwards says:

    I wonder if he knows just how lucky he is?

  2. scarlybobs says:

    Awww!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love that he wakes you up a few times a night for some fuss and attention, that is too sweet! The only way Kasper wakes me up is by standing on me haha! I’m glad some of his fears are settling down and being able to be overcome, I know what a great feeling that is ๐Ÿ˜‰

    For thunder / fireworks, I don’t know if it would work if it’s a really strong fear, but you could try playing YouTube videos of the two at the lowest volume whilst ‘happy times’ are happening (such as breakfast or just showering him with treats). If he’s unconcerned inch the volume up over a period of days, all the while giving awesome treats. We worked on this with Zoey as a puppy but, like I said, I don’t know if it would work for extreme fears…

    • osolynden says:

      Great idea and worth a try. It does look like a pretty extreme fear. This coming weekend the forecast says we may have a test run… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. ladyhart2u says:

    I love that you two are doing so good. I’ve never had a hyper dog, can’t even imagine it. I have had a few hyper cats though. Yikes!

  4. Stitch is quite the handsome fellow!

    It is a wonderful thing that he not only has a nearby canine companion he enjoys so very much, but also his own butler even closer.

    I give this delightful post two paws up;-].

  5. So the next goodie box I’ll send out peanut butter instead rawhides. Too cute! LOL… you know that’s the flavor toothpaste Fuji likes.

    Fuji girl has been sick again, but vet says she is in pretty good shape considering. We are putting her on “Call Of The Wild”, salmon dog food. I hope changing her diet helps!!! She is 14yrs old now. Meko is 9 yrs old. And our new rescue(suppose to find home for), Teachi is 2yrs old. I’m stalling, trying to talk Mike into letting me keep Teachi. He said we don’t need another dog right now. But I just might get my way this time!!!! Maybe.

    I finally got around taking pictures and will blog about them soon. Also I got your lovely pictures, love the cactus with red flowers most!

    Well off to bed I go. Got a early day tomorrow, one of the horses is breathing loud when he gets too hot. We have to get him off the pasture and put in the stable with fan. He is quite wild so it takes some persuading to get him harnessed.

    Sending lots of love to you both, hugs too. โค

    • osolynden says:

      Have Stitch on Blue Buffalo Wilderness Duck dog food. Pricey, but well rated.

      Hope Fuji hangs in there! She is so sweet.

      Tell your husband I said it was a great idea to keep the new puppy….

      Sounds like you have your hands full as usual. Thanks for dropping by! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Stich is such a cutie. Reminds me of My Kiki. She didn’t care for toys, didn’t chew things (except pig ears), and was so afraid of thunderstorms and fireworks there were times I thought she’d have a heart attack. It was never too surprising to find her hiding in the bathtub during a storm. Her hearing and nose for a storm was so good you could almost predict the weather by her. She would get antsy hours before the first drizzle would even start.

    We couldn’t do anything about the storms, but every 4th we would just pack up the family and go camping in the middle of nowhere since we live in a neighborhood where “safe and sane” isn’t. Then the dog would be calm, but I would be all antsy worrying whether our house would get burned down. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • osolynden says:

      Stitch won’t even touch pig ears. Instead he carries around an old dehydrating sweet potato I threw out like it is his prize possession. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      What a good dog mom! Kiki got her own 4th of July camping trip! The things we do for the critters we love.

Leave a Reply

