In Memoriam

Image

 

Yesterday afternoon Mr. S. Potato took a short tumble when being transported from one dog nest to another. He shattered into pieces and sweet potato dust.

Though the relationship was brief (4 months) Mr. S. Potato will be sorely missed by Stitch the Wonder Dog.

No last words were recorded but we will be putting “I Yam what I Yam”, on his tombstone.

We are asking in lieu of flowers that you pet a dog in Mr. Potato’s name.

The store bought dog toys are in the toy basket gathering dust in spite of my having smeared them with peanut butter and crawling around on the floor with them in my mouth pretending to have a wonderful time. They are not Mr. Potato.

While special relationships are not replaceable, I have put sweet potatoes on the grocery list. One can hope.

We are all just (sweet potato) dust in the wind. 

 

This entry was posted in Dog Blog, just plain silly, Rural Rhapsody and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to In Memoriam

  1. Some of the sweetest relationships are just blips on our radar of life. It’s wonderful that we live in a desert where a sweet potato can provide such happiness by lasting four months.

    As requested, instead of sending a huge sympathy bouquet, I have pet three dogs in the name of Mr. S. Potato.

    • osolynden says:

      Stitch is still a bit verklempt at the moment. He hasn’t uttered a word all day… I will pass on your tribute and I feel certain he will be pleased when the grief passes. 🙂

  2. scarlybobs says:

    This made me laugh *so* much, so thank you for sharing 🙂

    Poor Stitch, I hope he likes his new potato friend as much as his old one XD

  3. ladyhart2u says:

    I’m going to tell you one of the first things I ever said to you. Paraphrasing of course, because I’m old and can’t remember shit. You can take absolutely nothing and turn it into something entertaining. I love that about you. Huggzzz

  4. Ishbel says:

    My deepest sympathies to the potato lover.

  5. Poor Stitch sounds beside himself. I will be sure to pet two dogs and cat in name of Mr. S. Potato. Oh wait, does cat count? LOL. We’re out of town house sitting.

    Here is a great tip from the current issue of AKC Family Dog served as Plan B, “when a toy goes missing”.

    Tip#1….Stash the new toy in a kitchen drawer, take it out occasionally, and play with it yourself. Toss it in the air, yell “woo hoo” and put it away. Eventually, curiosity gets the best of Fido and he wants to join in the fun.

    Something about tip#1 just doesn’t sound right….snickering.

    Tip#2…..They suggested leashing the toy and taking it for a walk.

    LOL, the things we do for our doggies. 😉

Leave a Reply

