Betta

My rural life gets pretty wildly exciting. Sometimes I count the number of times the fly on my hand raises and lowers it’s wings.

I do have the dogs or I would commit Seppuku for the sheer entertainment value.

I am caring for a Betta for a friend. Bettas are colorful interesting tropical fish also called Siamese Fighting fish or at least in my youth they were.

I was a huge fish nerd in my teens. I started with a Betta and got carried away buying books and expanding into the hobby. I still know the weight of a gallon of water varies according to it’s temperature and how to cure a case of “Ich”. I was the only kid on the block with a subscription to Tropical Fish Hobbyist magazine…

It is all coming back to me having a fish in the house.

I have an itsy bitsy aquarium of my own on order. I should have paid down medical bills faster but darn it, I need a small treat. So a 2.6 gallon aquarium of my own is on the way. Room for a Betta and a VERY few other compatible tank mates.

I am pretty excited about this. Last time I got this jazzed was when the new meds let me only get up once during the night to whiz.

They come in different colors

They come in different colors

This entry was posted in just plain silly, Rural Rhapsody, Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Betta

  1. ladyhart2u says:

    I’m glad you posted a picture of the fish. Saved me from using the Google. Tell me the truth, did you vote in your own poll?

  2. scarlybobs says:

    Are Betta the same as Siamese Fighting Fish? Oh yeah, you already said they’re the same, doh!

    I have wanted one for so long, I think they are amazing. Unfortunately we are too full up on pets, and I have never had tropical fish before so would probably fail epically.

    We do have several White Cloud Mountain Minnows, which have been the easiest fish I have ever had. The three adults we started with have passed on, but their two offspring are thriving still!

    Do you have a colour preference?

    • osolynden says:

      I don’t really have a color preference. I have seen some real beauties in online photos.

      I have had White Clouds. πŸ˜‰ I was really into fish until I left my parents home. They aren’t the most portable of pets…

      • scarlybobs says:

        Our local pet shop stores no pets other than fish, and they take really good care of them. They have some fighting fish and they are stunning.

        I know what you mean, we’ve had to move house five times with fish (twice with a goldfish and three with the minnows), they were nearby moves and they were still a nightmare!!

  3. I have three…in separate large uniquely shaped glass vases. I have them sitting on a counter near my nordictrack. They love spying on each other, raising fin. I collected water plants and sand from pond, with green stone or river rocks to make their environment more natural. This is where I got my idea from….soo awesome! Oh and I vote for 5.

    • osolynden says:

      Hi SGH!

      Thanks for the video. I didn’t know you had fish too but it figures. πŸ˜‰
      Yes, I think the tank can hold 5 if I very strictly draw the line there.

  4. osolikeyou says:

    I remember the tank(s) quite well. Peaceful and entertaining especially the Betas

  5. Sechumanist says:

    I think piranhas would be nice. They could help the dog keep strangers away.

    • osolynden says:

      I actually had a friend who kept them. They are quite fascinating. I would observe they are not nearly as cuddly as dogs but on the other hand you don’t have to brush them.

  6. Sechumanist says:

    But, they have large teeth. Maybe, you should brush them? You know, to prevent cavities.

  7. 1st: Unfishnetted business from your prior (pillow) post. Wherein I reported that the same or very similar pillow you got I relegated to the easy chair as a head prop.

    You know – the $30 delivered yard sale easy chair with the non-matching food-stained padded foot stool I used to sleep in every night before you insisted I get an actual bed? (GREAT advice I took, BTW.)

    Well after trading it back and forth a number times, I now prefer using it while sleeping on my bed. It now feels a good balance betweeen softness and support. Strange.

    2nd: The extent of my pet fish is smoked salmon fettucine with light alfredo sauce for dinner tonight. Will yours get big enough to smoke? Have they arrived yet?

    3rd: “I think my next move will be the 6 foot under residence…” A number of leading authorities are questioning and consulting on whether this will be sufficient distance to keep you from coming back to haunt those who survive you.

    0 0 Rate This

    • osolynden says:

      Unfishnetted? Tee hee. πŸ˜‰

      Glad you and the pillow made peace. Glad you aren’t still sleeping in a chair for cripes sake. I have low standards and uh… never mind.

      Tank has arrived and still tweaking it. Thermometer not working for me, need a new one. It is the color coded type unreadable for the color blind. So Betta won’t be moving in until I know I won’t be cooking him. And no, he doesn’t smoke.

      As to my haunting skills? That remains to be seen. If you are in a room alone (after I shuffle off) and suddenly smell a fart and it wasn’t you… spill a little beer on the floor as an offering.

  8. TUS says:

    Ok, new to this osolyden so not entirely sure if this will post. Does one need any kind of account or can I just type a reply here. Guess I will find out (hits send now)

  9. Denise Black says:

    Lyden it’s me TUSAgain. I could not figure out how to do this without using Google+ to sign in.

    One comment will most likely wait forever in moderation as I only used a 3 letter sign in name and then I could not get a password to work. I thought it posted but nope…just looking at me with those sad moderation eyes.

    Thing is I don’t use Google+ either so not sure how that works. Would like to just give you my email address if that is alright. I’m not very tech savvy and not clear headed due to meds.

    Hope this gets to you and I figure out if you replied or not, LOL. No, not joking…I’m that bad at new stuff.

    Touched by it all and by all means go for the fish!

Leave a Reply

